top of page

Belly Band wearing

A friend of mine gave me a belly band when I was pregnant. I had never used a belly band previously and had no idea what I was meant to do with one. I put it aside and didn't think of it.


When packing the hospital bag I did place the belly band in, in hopes that I would build the courage to work it out in hospital. I didn't. I left it in there, only to be brought home again untouched.


Almost 6 weeks postpartum I saw the belly band again and thought "maybe I should work out how to use it." I looked up on the internet how to wrap the belly band and finally built up the courage to try it on. Man, I wish I did earlier!!

I placed the belly band on top of my t-shirt in hopes it wouldn't rub or irritate me. It felt so comfy to put on and I felt my belly being supported. I wore it all afternoon.


The belly band is meant to help support muscles that have loosened whilst pregnant and help speed the process of healing. It also supports back muscles and in the case of a c-section helps support the area around the scar.

The photo to the left is of me when I was out for dinner. I am wearing the belly band under my black shirt- on top of a white nursing top. I wore it like that so it wouldn't irritate me skin.


Can you tell I am wearing it? No way. It is completely hidden away.


I wore it all day whilst watching my partner play cricket. We then went out for dinner, and I continued to wear it still.


After almost the whole day of wearing it, my back hurt less, and I felt I could move easier. I was supported in the area I have been feeling has been just flopping around. (no other way to describe it.) I have felt so self-conscious about the area, but wearing the belly band I hardly noticed that area moving at all.


I am unsure if the benefits of the belly band will truly work now, so late after having bubs. But it has helped me feel confident about my body and feel the area being tucked in and supported.


I would highly recommend using a belly band if you are pregnant- especially in the later stages where the bump feels like its weighing you down and pulling your back with it.


After having a c-section I would wait until your scar is settled before wearing it. Asking a doctor may be recommended to ensure it doesn't hinder the healing of the scar. I kept most things away from my scar for at least a week. Only wearing high waisted underwear for a day before wearing a looser pair to ensure the scar area got air. A belly band may irritate the area, especially in those first few days/ week.


From now on, I am wearing the belly band throughout the day especially on days I know I will be doing a fair bit of walking. Im taking it off at night times to allow my body to relax a little, as well as allowing my scar area to air.


5 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page