top of page

Having Eyelash Extensions applied: My experience

Yesterday I went to Ibah Spa and Studios in the beautiful Thirroul to have a set of eyelash extensions applied. I have never had eyelash extensions before, but having very fair eyelashes it has always been something I have wanted to do. Why? Because they make me look like I actually have eyelashes!

Before photo

Preparation for treatment


Before you go to get your lashes done they should advise you not to wear makeup. This allows them to have clean lashes to work with.


Another thing the lady suggested to me is to have a eyelash tint beforehand (a few days before even) so that the original lash doesn't stand out as much. This is definitely something I will be doing. It would make the lashes look fuller and darker.


I would also suggest trying to make yourself as calm as possible. As you will be sitting for a bit of time..


The procedure


Of course all technicians have their own ways of doing things, but this was my experience. The first thing the lady did was to set all her equipment up. (Makes sense right) She got me to sit in the chair and lay it back. Being a mum- this was awesome!


The lady put eye patches under my eyes. Now if you are like me- this part can be a little tricky. My eyes have this tendency to flutter when things are put too close to them. To put the patches on, I had to look up to the roof. A suggestion given to me that really worked was to concentrate on a spot on the roof. Think only of that spot. It worked really well. She put a bit of tape on my eyelids too, to keep them nice and wide.


As I said, you want to be as comfortable as possible. It does take awhile to go through the whole procedure.


To apply the extensions, the technician will place a lash with glue on existing eyelashes. You can imagine how long this takes.. Using tweezers she pushed eyelashes to seperate them, placed the lash with glue onto a lash and held until stuck. Moving across the lashes. They will assess how long each lash is and "map out" what lash to put.


The hardest part for me was to sit still for the length of time it took, without being able to see anything. Having relaxing music and the temperature of the room being nice and cool made this fairly bearable.


All up the treatment took an hour and half (approx) from start to finish. The most annoying part was the removal of the patches and tape. With new, longer lashes opening my eyes felt a little funny too. However, just like getting your lashes tinted, it passes pretty quickly.


The lady gave me a little mascara brush (with no mascara obviously) to brush the lashes and she advised not having a shower or getting lashes wet for 24 hours as the glue would dissolve away.


The following day (Today) my eyes do feel a little weird, and I have to constantly remind myself that I can't rub my eyes even though they feel weird. But I know this will pass as I get used to them.


The lashes last 2-5 weeks depending on how well they have taken, and treatment etc.


After. Feeling amazing!

Ibah Spa and Studio Thirroul Review:


Experience: ★★★★☆ Having never had eyelash extensions, the experience was strange for me. However, the lady tried to make me as comfortable as possible.


Booking in appointment: ★★★★★ The ladies were super friendly and accommodating when booking in an appointment.


Atmosphere: ★★★★★ The studio was calm, cool and inviting. The beautiful music playing in the background was extremely enjoyable.


Staff: ★★★★☆ The staff were approachable and friendly. Being someone with anxiety at new experiences, they made it very comfortable.


Overall: ★★★★★ I loved the studio and will be recommending it to friends and family!


 

Want to book yourself a treatment?

Head to their website: https://www.ibahspathirroul.com/

or Phone: 4267 4224

 

Before and after photo:



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page