top of page

Household organisation for small spaces

Our house is fairly small, being a two bedroom place with now four people and a dog living in it. We are trying to adjust things to make more room and create more space by storing things well.


So far I have used a few ideas I have found to create some space or organise things a little better. Pinterest is the best for finding ideas!


Zone cleaning and organising

An idea I gathered from my sister is zone cleaning and organising. I have sectioned the house into zones for working through the house to sort and clean. That way it isn't overwhelming. I have listed on the right hand side areas I want to focus on or things I want to do in each zone.


The above zone cleaning is written on the whiteboard now hanging in the main traffic area- near the kitchen. The $3 board from a cheapy shop and a $3 corkboard are hung on the wall with double sided tape. The whiteboard will be used to write messages to each other or important information, and the corkboard is for hanging bills or paperwork that usually causes chaos on our dining table. This will limit the clutter on the table- clearing that zone a little more.


Portable change table and trolley

This is our change table. Looks fancy right? Not really. But its practical for us.

We were given the change mat from a friend.


We place it on the coffee table to change bubs, and then place it behind the couch when not in use.


The basket has wipes, nappy cream and nappy bags for change time.


There is another change mat in the bedroom for night time changes that we tuck beside the set of drawers.




All of our nappy supplies and changing needs are in the convenient trolley I set up before bubs arrived.


On the top is nappy bags and liners, creams and singlets.


Middle shelf is our amazing Nappies pre-folded and in baskets to keep them sorted.


The bottom has wraps, bathing needs in a basket and toys.


The trolley can be moved where needed, but mostly it sits in the corner of the room tucked away. It is easily accessible and stores things quickly.


Back of bedroom door

Night time nappy changes have meant a walk out to the loungeroom to gather supplies to bring back to the bedroom to change bubs. To make the changes quicker and less tiring, I have put baskets on the back of our bedroom door that opens into the room. Using double sided tape on back of hooks (The one you buy from woolworths or coles) I then hooked the baskets from kmart ($2 each) onto the hooks. The holes of the baskets are the perfect size for them. Inside the baskets I have put wipes and burping bibs. The other one has nappies in them. (Bubs is in disposables at night time)


Bathroom bin

Our bathroom gathers a lot of rubbish from makeup wipes, wrapping of new makeup products, ear buds etc. The rubbish normally is placed in a plastic bag that just sits on the vanity. It causes clutter and causes me a lot of anxiety.

I bought a small desktop bin that cost $3.50 (you can still see price sticker on it!) But instead of placing it on the vanity, I used the idea of the basket from the bedroom door and placed the bin inside it. This also means I can change what goes inside the basket if needed.



 

I am still on the hunt for more ideas to organise and sort our house. The amount of clutter causes me so much anxiety, and I need to reduce it. I will update my blog as I organise our lives.


In the mean time check out my pinterest board House organisation:

https://www.pinterest.com.au/smithmonkey/house-organisation/


or my other board Baby Organisation:

https://www.pinterest.com.au/smithmonkey/baby-organisation/






12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page