top of page

Making and Using your own Eco- Friendly Multi Purpose Spray

Lately I have been trying to reduce down the waste our house use, but also save on money. We spend so much money on cleaning products! In our grocery shopping bill a huge amount is devoted towards cleaning products whether it be for the dishes, washing or cleaning products.


I came across a 'recipe' for a multi-purpose cleaning spray using home products that reduces down the need to buy plastic bottles, and various types of cleaners.

#missmumof2cleaning

Ingredients needed:

  1. Spray bottle

  2. White Vinager

  3. Water

  4. Essential oils for fragrance


Method

  1. In the spray bottle put 1 part vinegar to 1 part water. I put 200ml of vinegar with 200ml of water. This almost filled the bottle I had.

  2. Add in drops of essential oils. I dropped around 20 drops between Eucalyptus oil and lemongrass oil. Drop enough in to take away the smell of the vinegar.

  3. Spray on surfaces and use your non paper towels to wipe off.

  4. Done.


Super easy to make, and it really works well! I used the spray on the stove top and WOW! It came up beautifully.


There are other essential oils that you can use, and with little research you can find the perfect ones for fragrance. I love Eucalyptus oil as it smells amazing, but also helps the cleaning process (apparently.) Lemongrass was just another oil I had on hand, but I plan to find a lemon essential oil as this would be perfect for the cleaning solution to leave everything smelling fresh!

 

For the tougher cleaning areas


Ingredients needed:

  1. Spray bottle

  2. White Vinager

  3. Water

  4. Bi Carb Soda

Method

  1. Similar to above, combine Bi Carb Soda with 2 table spoons of vinegar (it will fizz up)

  2. Dilute with water in a spray bottle or a bowl.

  3. Spray on areas that need extra scrubbing. Leave for 1- 3 minutes. Using a toothbrush or scrubber, scrub the area until removed. If using a bowl rub the solution onto the areas and complete the same scrubbing.

  4. Done.

 

I made a similar solution for mopping the floors and that has worked amazing! In a mop bucket I put water, poured in a splash of vinegar, bicarb soda and drops of essential oils. Using a mop I went over the floors and all marks came away with little effort needed. I don't have the exact measurements of what I put in, as I just put in what I thought went well together.

 

I am completely sold on this swap! I have used the solutions above in the kitchen, lounge room cupboards, bathroom, the floor tiles, EVERYTHING! It has been great! Especially paired with my non paper towels I made myself (tutorial to come!)


If you want to use the above solutions in your own house, make sure to take photos and tag #missmumof2cleaning so I can see how amazing it works for you!


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page