top of page

Mama Tribe Event

I remember when the Mama Tribe Pop-Up party popped up (pun intended) on instagram. I remember sitting there deliberating on it for weeks as to whether I should go. On the Mama Tribe instagram page the Brisbane photos were released and I remember thinking "I could go to something like that!" I finally made the decision, after checking with "my tribe" that there was nothing on and that there would be a babysitter for the kids.

The photo backdrop. Isn't it gorgeous!

The reason for the event


The event was put together by an amazing lady called Nicki and her gorgeous friend Petra. Both ladies made everyone feel like their best friend and welcomed everyone with a big smile at the venue.


Nicki talked about how she put together the Mama Tribes as a way of helping herself during a very difficult time as a mother. She felt lonely and needed some like minded mums to help her through. But not knowing how to meet new mums, or become friends with them she decided to create "Mama Tribes" where mums in the area could meet up and find their tribe.


This then lead to the Mama Tribe Pop Up parties this year, where the focus was on self care and caring about the Mums who care for the families.

 

The Venue

The event was at the Fernery, Mosman in the North of Sydney. Let me first start by saying that the place was absolutely gorgeous! The rooftop venue had an amazing view of the surrounding city, though the balcony was a little crisp to be standing out there at the end of June! The greenery around the place was gorgeous and made me feel like I was in a rainforest rather than a function center. Because it was a rooftop venue there was a few sets of stairs to walk up, but with each set of stairs was a gorgeous archway.


The event organisers did an exceptional job of decorating the place, with beautiful posters and balloons around. Upon arrival we received our name tag and a glass of drink. Our goodie bag was given to us (see later for what is in it.) This was good in some ways as I didn't take a handbag and thus had somewhere to put my things. The downfall was I had to carry the bag around. No biggie though.


There was a sitting area (bottom left photo above) where the "Speed Friending" took place (read below for more details.) It felt very cozy and welcoming in the room, however, with so many people it did get a little noisy. The seats were extremely comfortable, and there was another sitting area with lounges and tables (not pictured.)


If you want more information about the venue head to their website https://www.thefernerymosman.com.au/ where they have some amazing photos!

 

The Speed Friending

As I said above in the sitting area was the "Speed Friending." This activity was an optional extra to the experience. Just like speed dating we all sat down around the tables. We had two minutes to talk to the person across from us. There was even talking prompts on the table which I didn't end up having to use as I found most of the time it was easy to talk with someone for two minutes. We talked about the same thing each time- "Where you from? How many kids to do you have? What are their ages? What do you do for work? Are you a local?...."


When the two minutes were up one side of the table moved down a seat and the two minutes began again.


As I said above, the room got fairly crowded (Which was good to see!) but it also meant that the noise level was very high! It was at times difficult to hear the person across the table.


I loved this part of the event, as it was a quick way to talk to others and get to know a few ladies quickly. It went super fast! The ladies who I spoke to were all lovely and most of them had fairly young children. It was easy to talk to them about that, and what stage their children were at.


 

The Experiences

The focus of the night was "self care" so there was several 'experiences' around the main section of the venue. There was tables set up and each 'experience' focused on self care and motherhood.


1. Love Luna

There was a table set up with a company called "Love Luna." They create period panties.


These panties sound absolutely amazing and I have been considering buying some since the event.


The idea of the panties is that they are similar to regular undies, however inside them there is a "pad" like structure. The section of the panties with the "pad" catches the liquid from the period and ensures it doesn't leak. Then you just rinse them and put them in the washing machine to clean. Reusable and environmentally friendly! My kind of product!


They can be found in Woolworths or online at https://www.loveluna.com/ and are very affordable, especially seeing as how you can wear them for so long!


2. Hair on the move to you

Another experience was the Hair on the move to you tables. They were doing hair and makeup touch ups which seemed worth the while. However, I didn't get to go over to them because time went so quick! The hairstyles and makeup I saw them doing was really good though! From a little research they also do functions like weddings and parties too!

Their website is www.haironthemove2u.com.au


3. Massage by Health Space Clinics

There was an amazing experience of getting a massage done by Health Space Clinics!! A shoulder, neck and back massage!! A felt a million dollars after getting a quick massage done by a lovely lady. (sorry didn't catch her name) I have been needing a massage so badly lately, and the massage allowed my neck and back to free up a little so I could enjoy the night without a headache! Such a great mummy indulgence and I think if there are any event organisers out there, organise to have a massage for your clients!! They will definitely thank you for it! Their website is: https://healthspaceclinics.com.au/


4. A Little Bite by Grace

As people walked in they were able to receive a free illustration by the lovely owner of "A Little Bite By Grace."


The illustrations were absolutely gorgeous and the lady Grace Choi was a pleasure to talk to. Her friendly smile made the experience even more enjoyable!


How beautiful are her illustrations too?!


5. Breathing techniques by Adette Kagan

The one experience I didn't get near was the 'Breathing awareness' table. As far as I know the lady there would go through meditation and breathing techniques to improve mental health. I really wish I did get time to go see her, but she was very popular!


6. Photo Booth

Photo Booth time

The first photo of this post shows the backdrop for the photo booth experience. The backdrop looked absolutely amazing!! The area was set up with a great LED circle light and had some great Photo booth props. I deliberately got the "You've got this mama" sign as it spoke most to me.


There was a professional photographer taking photos, but most of the time people were just getting someone to take photos on their phone too.


The photo booth was extremely popular, and most of the time there was a line up to take photos. And why not, when it looked so amazing!

 

The Speakers

The speakers

The one part of the night I was looking forward to most was the panel of speakers. There was three women who had different expertise and the founder Nikki. As I was standing a behind some people I didn't get a photo of the last speaker.


1. Steph Pase

I follow Steph on Instagram and she is absolutely amazing! Her organisational skills are just outstanding!! I wish I could organise things like her because I swear my anxiety would be cut way down if everything had order and organisation. She talked about her experiences with anxiety and depression. The needing to take care of yourself first before you can take care of your babies. She talked about getting help and the importance of it. Also, the idea of mummy guilt and standing your own ground on your parenting decisions. I wish I took a notepad to write everything down!! Her blog is https://justanothermummyblog.com/ and if you aren't already follow her instagram @justanothermummyblog


2. Jules Coffery

I didn't know much about Jules Coffery before I went to the event. She is a mum of two and does an amazing job of being a Doula. A Doula helps a lady through pregnancy, birth and postpartum. She talked about working as a mother and mummy guilt. She talked about the importance of self care and looking after yourself especially as a working mum. Also about the importance of care for mum following the birth. There should be more emphasis on care for mums postpartum in the "fourth trimester" than the baby. This is something I totally agree with!


3. Tracy Harris

Oh My Gosh! I didn't know much about Tracy either before the event, and I absolutely loved her talk! Her loud, vibrant personality was so empowering and uplifting! She talked about the mummy guilt, and returning to work. She discussed her experience of the 'maternal wall' when returning to work and how it triggered anxiety. A story she told was about doing her grocery shopping with her baby in the trolley and by seeing someone she knew walking towards her would trigger her so much that she would abandon her trolley and groceries and leave. All because the thought of the question "how are you going?" would trigger her anxiety.


After listening to the speakers I felt empowered to be a working mum. But even more so it gave me this urge to be able to work at home and spend time with my family. The idea of returning to long hours away from my kids gives me huge anxiety!

They also made me realise the importance of setting my own goals and looking after me before I can look after bubs and OJ, and even MJL. I need to care for myself first! I need to take those moments for me. Set time aside for just me.
 

The Goodie Bag

On arrival we all received a goodie bag stuffed full of amazing vouchers and samples!

The goodie bag

Below I will list the companies and the samples in the bag:

  1. Poni Cosmetics voucher

  2. The laughing Pug coffee bag and discount code

  3. A little Bite of Grace discount code

  4. Soul Flow Yoga voucher for a free class

  5. Clean Tea sample of Femme tea

  6. Inessa Vitamins- I got the beauty boost ones

  7. Green Tea X 50- Broccoli chips (OMG so yum!)

  8. Hair on the move information

  9. Adette Kagan information

  10. Esmi Skin minerals voucher

  11. Mummaactiv resistance band (SO LOOKING FORWARD TO USING!)

  12. Healthspace voucher

  13. Love Luna socks and bag, with 2 discount codes

  14. You Foodz protein balls

Love Luna socks!

There was also meant to be a magazine which somehow wasn't in the bag. But I was amazed by the amount of discounts and samples there was in there! The things I loved most were the Broccoli chips (SO YUM!) and the love Luna socks. I am not sure if I will use all the vouchers/ discount codes so if there is anything you are interested in comment below and I can give you the details!


The goodies were inside an amazing tote bag that has Mama Tribe logo and sayings over it. Something I will definitely be using in the future! I love that they gave it in something that is reusable and environmentally friendly!

 

The Overall Experience

Thankyou to the gorgeous lady who took my photo for me on the way in

Did I enjoy the event?

HELL YES! It was amazing! I took away so much from the night, and it made me realise how much as a mum we take on board without any notice. We concentrate on the family, and the kids, the housework. We forget us mamas so much!


Would I do another event like it?

HELL YES! I thought it was amazing. There were a few things that made it hard to really appreciate the night (the inability to hear a lot of the speakers during the panel because of microphone issues, and the noise level in the speed friending.) But I would definitely want to go to another one if any more come up.


What was the best part of the night?

Meeting up with new mums and talking about life in general. But mainly the panel of speakers. I found this was the best part of the night. The women speaking talked about such important matters of being a mum and so much resonated with me. I loved hearing their stories.


Where can I find more information about Mama Tribe?

The Mama Tribe website https://www.mamatribe.com.au/

The Mama Tribe instagram page https://www.instagram.com/mamatribelove/

The Mama Tribe facebook page https://www.facebook.com/mamatribelove/

They also have facebook groups for the Mama Tribes in your local area. Sign up on the Mama Tribe website and they will send you the information for the local Mama Tribe page.

 


 

If you want any more information regarding Mama Tribe, the event or the companies involved please comment below and I am more than happy to provide you the information. If you click the photos throughout the post it will also take you to the company's website.


Disclaimer: This post was in no way promoted or endorsed, all information was provided to me at the event, and the links were found on my own research (or via the links on the pamplets)

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page