top of page

Our Sleep Routine

Lately we have been working on our sleep routine with bubs. I feel we are getting closer to having a fairly well structured sleep routine and pattern. Below I have shown our routine in a timeline. It is only an approximate on times as it really does depend on what we are doing on the day. Night time has been slowly changing too.

When I say short sleep he has very small sleeps in that time period. I call them catnaps. He sleeps for around 15 minutes and is awake again. Usually laying on a pillow on the couch beside me. I don't mind these times as it means he has a longer sleep later on, and even sleeps longer at night.


At night time he has two routines happening. The first is that he wakes around 1am if he has feed will sleep until 5am, feed again and then sleep until 7am for a quick feed before getting up.

The second is that he will wake for the 3am, feed and fall asleep again until 5am and is the same as above until 7am.


So far I am pretty happy with this routine. He is getting a good solid sleep time at night with 3am feed. During the day he is fitting in with school runs etc. With a good sleep in the afternoon I am able to get things done.


 

My tips on sleep routine:

  • Our house is quite calm and quiet. This really does help.

  • Swaddle!! Biggest help for us

  • Do the same things. Whether it be Play, Feed, change, swaddle, put down.

  • Consistency. Something I do struggle with, but if bed time is around 9pm- do the sleep routine close to 9pm.

  • Be flexible. Sometimes the routine won't happen. But try to keep to routine as much as you can.

  • Be patient.


7 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page