top of page

Pap smears: the dreaded necessity of being a female


Yesterday I went for my OBGYN 6 week check up appointment. I was so nervous about the appointment for some reason. When the doctor was talking with me before he "inspected me" he asked if I was due for a pap smear. As my memory is horrible at the moment I cannot remember if I am or not. He decided it was a good idea for me to have one anyway.


He mentioned something interesting to me. Apparently Pap Smears in Australia are now going to be every 5 years, rather than 3 years. They are changing the way in which they screen for issues. Instead of looking at the cell changes, they look for the virus that causes the cells to change. The virus has to be in the body for a length of time to cause any issues. Thus creating a longer length of time needed between the smears.


 

What is a Pap Smear?


Most females will say they detest going for a pap smear. They aren't painful, but they are slightly uncomfortable.


To explain what a pap smear is I found the below information:


A Pap smear, also called a Pap test, is a procedure to test for cervical cancer in women.

A Pap smear involves collecting cells from your cervix — the lower, narrow end of your uterus that's at the top of your vagina.

Detecting cervical cancer early with a Pap smear gives you a greater chance at a cure. A Pap smear can also detect changes in your cervical cells that suggest cancer may develop in the future. Detecting these abnormal cells early with a Pap smear is your first step in halting the possible development of cervical cancer.

(https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/pap-smear/about/pac-20394841)

 

Pap Smears are one of those topics that most females don't wish to talk about. Not because it is a taboo topic, but because it is something most females put off. Who wants to sit in a doctor surgery with legs up and have them put a swab inside them? But you know what... It is one of those necessary evils of being a female. As stated above, early detection is vital in eliminating cervical cancer.


So, if you are due for a pap smear or you are unsure if you are this is your friendly reminder to book an appointment with your GP or Gyno. The small amount of discomfort is a small price to pay for early detection.



4 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page