top of page

Safety Razors: Why you should use them and how

When I told people I have started using a safety razor I had the same questions from them.

What is a safety razor?

What is it made out of?

Why would you swap to that?

What is the cost?

How do I use one?

Each of these questions are perfect to ask, and I will discuss each below. Safety Razors are great and after reading this I can guarantee you will agree with me.

What is a safety razor?

A safety razor is usually made out of metal and is 100% plastic free. If you use the correct blade inside the razor it will be double edged as well. This safety razor swivels open to allow you to change the blade inside it. The blades are stainless steel which means they are recyclable as well.


What is it made out of?

Generally speaking safety razors are made out of metal. Depending on the style of the razor will depend if there are any other materials used. I have seen some with bamboo in the handle, or ivory. But it really does depend on what style of razor you are looking for. The blades are made of stainless steel. MJL suggested to get feather blades as they give a better shave, but also are reasonably cheaper than other blades. (Read below for more information)


Why would you swap to that?

The biggest reason for making the swap to safety razors is that they are environmentally friendly. They have little wastage and last for years! A single disposable razor lasts maybe 10 shaves, where a safety razor lasts for years with the blade only needing to be changed. Plus, you could get more shaves out of a safety razor blade than a disposable one. As the razor provides a closer and better shave, you don't need to shave as often! Huge win for me as a mum!! I am shaving only once a week! With sensitive skin, finding a razor that doesn't rip my skin apart is difficult. But with a safety razor there is no irritation.


What is the cost?

As a family on a budget the costing of things does come into consideration. So I put it to you this way. How much do you spend on disposable razors now? For me a razor was around $8-10. Okay, that doesn't sound much right? Well the cartridge blade replacements were $16+ ! Now think about how many times you change the cartridge on the razor. I was changing every month or so. Lets work this out. $10 + (16x12) thats close to $200 just in razors! (Thats if you replace them regularly)

Let's look at a safety razor. I have seen them for $30+. Ok seems a bit right? But looking at the feather blades a packet of 5 from the shaver shop is $4.95. Thats $1 a blade! When you only needing to change blades every couple of months. At most you will be spending $40 on shaving. (Thats only in the first year, as your razor will last a lot longer than that!)


How do I use one?

This question is a big one. One I had myself before using one. They do take a little research and thinking to get used to using one. They aren't like your disposable razors. However, I have found using one extremely easy after it was explained to me. My amazing fiance MJL did a great video which I will link below that explains how to use one.


 

In case you needed more convincing here is an infographic to compare safety razors and disposable razors.


 

If you would like any more information regarding the use of safety razors, or need more to understand how to use a safety razor please comment below.

 

Disclaimer: All products mentioned in this post are in no way sponsered or endorsed. All information is gathered through personal experiences and understanding of the product.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page