top of page

The not so good days and how I cope with them

Today was not a good day. It started off okay with getting up early with bubs. But overnight he had been so clingy and whingy I feel I have hardly slept. I decided to get up anyway to try get some things done today instead of laying in bed for half the day.


We got up and I had breakfast (bowl of cereal) and bubs was still quite whingy. I finally got him settled enough to start expressing. I was able to express 100ml this time! So much closer to my goal of 150ml.


My plan was to go for a walk after I expressed. This was when my day started to fall apart. I got out the pram from the car ready to go. I went looking for our puppies lead... couldn't find it. Bubs started screaming. Puppy kept throwing his toy at me to play with him. All the time I am trying to find the lead whilst calming bubs down. *stress!* I messaged MJL and the lead was in his car. This meant no walk.



I settled down to feed bubs...again.


There was two options here. 1. To sit and wallow all afternoon that I couldn't leave the house.

2. struggle for a little while and try to get bubs, puppy, pram and nappy bag etc into the car.


I chose number 2.


When I have bad days I try and think of options. "I could do this....or this..." It makes my mind focus on options out of the situation rather than spiralling into it.


 

My coping tips


Take a deep breath.

I find my heart begins to pound when I start getting overwhelmed by things and I start to shake. By taking a deep breath it settles my body back down.


Think of options

Rather than spiralling, think of options to make the situation more positive. If it is not being able to get out- think of something to do inside to enjoy.


Is it that bad?

This is a question I ask myself regularly. Is it really that bad that I need to get upset over? Usually this helps me calm down.


Focus on the now

A tip I learned somewhere, maybe I read it somewhere, is that you focus on things around you. Today I focused on bubs. I looked at him and thought how gorgeous his eyes are, how long his eyelashes are getting, how much he has grown... It refocused me.


 

What are some your coping tips for settling yourself after a bad day?


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page