top of page

Organising kitchen drawers

My kitchen drawers have been giving me such anxiety every single time I open the drawer. There has been cutlery and utensils going everywhere and there was no order to the drawer at all! Am I the only one that this gives anxiety to? I had finally had enough and decided to sort it out.


#missmumof2organises

  • At the Reject Shop I found some drawer organisers that were only $1.50 each! Such a bargain and I found they fitted things perfectly.


As the top drawer had most things, and the second drawer had tea towels, wraps and sandwich bags it made sense to swap the large utensils to the second drawer and leave only the cutlery in the top.


  • I put the large knives into the longer organisers

  • The smaller utensils such as the peelers in the smaller ones.

  • I found folding the tea towels so that they are standing vertically instead of laying down meant I had more space in the drawer to put things.

  • I put the wraps to the back of the drawer, resting on top of each other to create space

  • I placed the baking equipment to one side of the top drawer

  • The dog food utensils to the other side

  • The reusable straws to the back of the drawer.


#missmumof2organises

Does anyone else seem to have a huge amount of plastic spoons or is it just us? A whole container worth!


My tips for organising your cutlery and utensil drawers

  1. Put like things together. Such as large knives together, baking things together etc.

  2. Have all things in their sections, not laying on top of each other

  3. Have dividers of some sort

  4. Empty the section on to the bench- wipe it out (With my eco spray) - put things back in.

  5. If there are things you never use- get rid of them

  6. If you have multiples of items you hardly use- get rid of them

  7. Have your large utensils separate to your cutlery. It just makes sense!


How do you sort your kitchen drawers? Take a photo and tag #missmumof2organises so I can see your amazing ideas.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page