top of page

Tasty lunch ideas

One thing that I've been trying to do is make some "healthy" lunches for MJL to take to work, and for me to have at home. I say "healthy" because they aren't completely 100% healthy. MJL has a habit of not eating at work, and I have the habit lately of eating whilst out or having 2 minute noodles when at home. So it's better than nothing!


Below I have some of the ideas I have made so far. I hope they inspire you to make your own and make sure you share them with me!

 

Pesto Pasta

Now, I can sometimes get creative and make my own things. One of which is pesto. It's super easy to make, especially with a food processor.


Pesto

What you will need:

  • - Pine nuts

  • - Basil (I use the dried basil, but you can use fresh basil leaves too)

  • - Olive oil/ vegetable oil

  • - Parmasen cheese

  • - Garlic (again I use the container of garlic granules)

  • - Salt and pepper if you wish


Now, I don't measure out anything, I just chuck it in to the food processor and add whatever I feel is needed more. Having said that, every time I make the pesto it turns out different because of this.

Pesto Pasta

To make the pictured pesto pasta I added white spiral pasta (what I had in cupboard) with frozen mixed vegetables. After I drained the pasta I then added two spoonfuls of the pesto and stirred it through. I had some shredded chicken in the fridge from Coles- peri peri flavour- and added that to the pasta too.

The fun thing about making a pasta like this is that you can add just about anything to it. Anything you have in the fridge or cupboard could go along with it. Instead of chicken you could add tuna or salmon. Or you could add different vegetables. Get creative!


 

Chicken and chickpea salad

This one was super easy to make and took no time at all to prepare.


What you will need:

  • - Tin of chickpeas (you could use chickpeas from scratch that you have prepared. But the tin chickpeas are easier)

  • - Tin corn (again for easiness)

  • - Cherry tomatoes

  • - Shredded lettuce (I got a bag from coles)

  • - Shredded chicken


All I did was put a layer of each ingredient into MJL's salad shaker. I cut the cherry tomatoes in half to make them easier to put in. The shredded chicken was tandoori flavoured.

You can vary this salad so easily. Adding or changing any ingredient in it could change the flavour easily. However, this salad went down really well, and with the chickpeas with the chicken it has a good protein hit with lightness of lettuce.



 

Avocado, Chickpea, and Egg salad

This salad was quite adventurous for me, and I would make some slight changes if I make this one again.


What you will need:

  • - Boiled egg (I made 4 eggs cut up for four servings of the salad)

  • - cherry tomatoes cut in quaters

  • - tin chickpeas

  • - avocado cut into slices (I used two for the four servings I made of the salad)

  • - Tin corn


I added all the ingredients together and put them in the salad shaker and 3 small containers for 4 servings worth all up.


Changes I would make:

- I would add something of a varied colour- something green- other than avocado. It needed something else.

- I would add another protein like tuna or chicken. As in first point it needed something extra.

- I would cut up the egg and avocado a lot smaller. They took over a bit as they were in such large chunks.


 

Chicken and chutney wrap

(Not pictured sorry!)

What you will need:

  • - "Mission wraps" I used the spinach and herb ones.

  • - Tomato chutney

  • - Grated cheese

  • - Shredded Chicken

  • - Shredded Lettuce


Just like the salads, making wraps can be a good way to get creative and change ingredients. The above ingredients were what I had in my fridge. You could add any type of salad to change the wrap to suit your style. I love the taste of chutney and chicken together.


 

These are just a few ideas I have had to make lunches a little more interesting than two minute noodles or a vegemite sandwich!


What lunches do you make for work?
7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page