top of page

Teaching the Bossy E rule

The bossy e rule is one that most kids know the name of, but when applying it in context find it really hard to. In my experiences, most kids find this rule fairly tricky. But if taught early and taught correctly can really help with understanding why the word note is not said "not-ey."

This rule is one that I have noticed my daughter struggling with. I wanted to go through it a little more for her so she could understand.


Prior knowledge needed:

The vowels are a, e, i, o, u



To start we went over the rule. What is a bossy e? She could tell me straight away what the bossy e rule was, but couldn't give me an example. I had her write out the rule on a piece of paper to refer back to if needed. (notice the handwriting.)


Alternatively: you could download the above poster from my teacherspayteachers store.

Link: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Bossy-E-Rule-Poster-5122693


To begin the activity I had my daughter read through a book she likes called Pig the Pug- christmas version, Pig the Elf. There wasn't a large amount of words in the book but it was a good starter for the activity.

Having a child/ students choose a book to use, or having a book they are interested in is really important in engaging them in the activity. For students who struggle with aspects of literacy, engagement in the tasks can be difficult.

As we read through the book, I had my daughter use the tabs for any bossy E word we found.

We then discussed what the word would be without the bossy e on the end. After a few examples I could see her understanding forming.


I wrote the word without the bossy e on a palm card and used a coloured piece of paper with 'e' written on it to demonstrate with and without the e. At the end of reading the book we went through the cards with and without the e.

Alternatively: You could download the cards from my teacherspayteachers store. Link: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Bossy-E-Words-5122700


To extend this activity further you can have students write out sentences using the bossy e word.

132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page