top of page

Easter Traditions


There are only a few events throughout the year that our family celebrate with enthusiasm. Easter is one of those occassions. It is a time we get together, we go all out on food and presents, and most of all just have a good time together.


We don't have a huge amount of traditions when it comes to Easter. I am sure we spend Easter like a lot of other families around. But I thought I would share some of the things we do throughout the Easter weekend.

On Easter Friday we usually get together for dinner with the family. We even do the whole eat fish rather than meat thing. Growing up I was raised in a Catholic household, my father being Catholic my mother not. Typically we don't do any other religious things over Easter. As a child we used to go to church but when us kids finished school that stopped.


On Easter Saturday we sometimes get together as a family. This year we had our Easter celebration on Saturday rather than Sunday. We had both sides of the family together for a lunch. My parents gave the grandkids an outfit each and they looked adorable in them.

When my daughter was younger we thought she may be allergic to chocolate. Whenever she ate chocolate, or when BF I ate chocolate, she broke out in eczema. It was horrible to watch as she would scratch until she bled.


Because of this, we stopped buying chocolate at Easter, instead would buy a gift. Usually a pair of pyjamas or an outfit to wear. Sometimes my mum would buy a dressing gown for each of the grandkids or make them something special.

On Easter Sunday the easter bunny has been overnight and the kids get to see what they have been given.


This year having the two, the easter bunny put their gifts in wire baskets (Kmart bargain!)


OJ got a large Kinder egg and some small chocolates in her basket. Along with a mask and an activity book (Woolworths find.) I also got her a t-shirt and harry potter scarf from us. Yes she gets spoilt. So will bubs when he is older too.


Bubs got a bunny toy and an outfit from the easter bunny. As he is too little there was no chocolate of course! Both kids also got a bunny light that changes colour. They are super cute!

I am hoping as both kids grow older our Easter traditions continue and grow. I love going out to find an Easter gift and chocolates. Sometimes I buy an Easter book to read, this year I got the activity book instead.


What are your Easter traditions?

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page