top of page

Getting a Mirena put in: Pros and cons

Yesterday I got a Mirena put back in, 9 weeks postpartum. I had one in after I had OJ and it was in for 5 years. I then got it replaced again and had it removed to try and conceive my baby boy.


I will go into the Pros and Cons of the Mirena, with a little insight from personal experiences. Overall I have had a very positive experience with the Mirena and I would highly recommend discussing it with your GP or Gyno.


How does the Mirena work?

The Mirena is placed inside your uterus and releases small amounts of hormones that reduce your risk of falling pregnant. It also limits/ decreases or even stops your monthlies! If you click on the link below it provides information and visuals for how the Mirena works.

(Not promoted or endorsed)


Pros

  • It lasts for 5 years. How awesome is that?

  • It limits or decreases monthlies. (Depending on your body will depend. Mine stopped altogether)

  • 99% effective of stopping pregnancy

  • Placed in uterus so no taking of pills every day

  • Can be removed at any time

  • Because of small amount of hormone theres no risk to BF (Personal experience)


Cons

  • I have had small amount of weight gain in past when Mirena was put in

  • Spotting irregularly can occur especially following the Mirena being put in

  • Slightly uncomfortable being put in. This time round I had quite a bit of bleeding straight after it being placed in. (Apparently the pinching of the cervix causes bleeding that is normal- it just depends how quickly it stops.)

  • Bloating can occur

  • Some people have had stomach concerns. I don't think I have had any problem

  • Hormonal headaches can occur after having it placed in

  • The box it comes in is MASSIVE!

Now as I said I have had a very positive experience with the Mirena, even though the list for cons are longer, the pros outweigh them for me. It took under 6 months to fall pregnant having it removed.


When it is placed inside it is uncomfortable and I had a bit of cramping and aching afterwards. But for me that small amount of discomfort for 5 years worry free is really what makes me choose the Mirena.


I tried having the rod put in before my daughter. I now have a scar on my arm and I had to get it removed because of the endless problems I was having. Bleeding and nausea were to the extreme!


I then tried the pill. I kept forgetting to take the pill and I was an emotional wreck. I stopped taking it... Thus my daughter. I knew the risks of not taking the pill and I made that choice. I made the choice to become a mum. It wasn't a mistake or anything like that. But if I had planned things differently...


After I had my daughter I had some hormonal issues and changes in monthlies. I went on a hormone treatment and it seemed to work. It was suggested to get a Mirena put in because of it. It has worked so well for me!


If you are trying to decide whether to get a Mirena put in for contraceptive, or the pill, or even the rod. I would recommend looking into all options. If one isn't working for you, there are the options for changing. As I said the pill and rod didn't work for me. But they may for you. It really depends on your own body and how it takes to it.



Disclaimer: This post is not sponsered or endorsed in any way by the company. I have reviewed it by personal experience.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page