top of page

Lunchbox Friendly Museli Bar Recipe Review

A little while ago a friend sent me a recipe for a lunchbox friendly Museli Bar. Our household eats so many museli bars within a week it is actually quite embarrassing. I had always longed to find a good museli bar recipe that I could make that OJ would actually eat, and that wouldn't get left in the pantry because it wasn't "yummy enough." I decided to give this recipe a go and it was surprisingly easy to put together.


I found it was quite crumbly, so I added more butter and honey until the mixture was very sticky. The amounts in the recipe meant that it fell apart. The first lot I made ended up more like a granola than a museli bar! But when I added more honey the second time round it stayed together better.


I have copied the recipe below. The ingredients were fairly easy to get, and overall it worked out being a lot cheaper than buying boxes of museli bars. Plus less wastage with no useless cardboard boxes to throw out or plastic wrapping.


I simply cut into square/ rectangles and placed in container in pantry. When OJ needed to take some to school she placed it in her lunchbox or in a reusable snack bag.


(I do not take any credit for this recipe and my friend is unsure where the recipe originated from. Comment for credit below!)


Lunchbox Friendly Museli Bar

Ingredients

2 cups of oats

Pepitas and sunflower seeds

1/2Cup shredded coconut

1/2tsp sea salt

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 scoop of protein

Chia seeds

1tbsp butter

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup goji berries (could use cranberries, sultanas, raisins)


Method


1. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. I didn't measure seeds, throw in however much you like.

2. Melt butter and honey over stove or in microwave

3. Add to dry mixture

4. Give a good mix and add water.

5. Press mixture down firmly in a greased shallow baking dish and bake in a 160-170 degree oven for 20-30 minutes until firm and brown on top.

6. Allow to cool in dish before pulling out as it will crumble apart.


As stated above, adding extra "sticking agents" to the mixture really helped keep it from crumbling. Not too much as it adds extra calories and sugar, but just enough to help it stick.


Leave it in the tray for as long as you can, it helps it from falling apart. I let it sit for a good hour before I cut it straight from the tin and put it in a container.


OJ, MJL and I have loved eating this museli bar, and it is now part of the weekly meal prepping!


In the first batch I made it with cranberries and sultanas. In the second one I made it with just sultanas.


Comment below any changes you would make to the recipe.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page