top of page

Mummy Life and its highlights

Lately my world sort of feels a little chaotic. Things are okay, but not quite settled. The thing with motherhood I have found is that things are never quite "settled."

Life...it's a bit like that buddy!

With my daughter, she has always been chaotic! In personality, sleeping, playing and just life in general. I am not saying this is a bad thing, but when you are the mother to that... well it can be quite full on! I remember when she was around 8 months old and was getting into EVERYTHING! I was home alone with her and I had been chasing after her all day, feeding her and playing with her. It was about 4 O'Clock in the afternoon and I was totally beat. I laid down on the couch for a rest whilst she played in front of me. I closed my eyes for a millisecond and opened them again and she was gone. I FREAKED! Where had she disappeared to? I found her in the bedroom pulling out clothes in my wardrobe. *SIGH* I couldn't believe 1. she could move so fast! 2. that she had managed to pull out every single piece of clothing in my drawers!


A definite highlight is watching when your kids start to make up games and play by themselves. Not that I don't like playing games with the kids, but it is adorable to watch my daughter create a whole world and play around with imagination. Another highlight would be the times they begin to laugh. My son has just started to chuckle and it is the most beautiful sound! When I tickle him he begins to laugh, but at times has this "I.Dont.Know.What.Is.Happening" look on his face.






A funny story

I thought I would share a very VERY funny story that happened the other night. Now this might be a TMI moment, but bare with me. It was quite late at night and bubs was asleep IN HIS BASSINET! *high-five* Now, new mums might now this moment. When things start happening... between you and your partner... something that hasn't happened in ages because of having a newborn around, who takes up space in the bed and time. Well things were beginning to happen (SORRY TMI!) Funny enough bubs was sound asleep. However, OJ my 8 year old daughter, walked like a zombie in the door. "Mummy I can't sleep..." If you have ever been in a moment similar to this you would know how much shock we both had. I still have no idea how much she actually "saw" or can even remember. I am actually fairly certain she wasn't even really awake. (or I hope...) We both went "You're okay, go back to bed." I am even sure I was bright red in the face! We both just burst out laughing!


Why am I telling you this very personal story? Well I wanted to show you something. Motherhood is never what you really expect or think it will be. Things like Sex (insert child like chuckle here) or time to do those normal adult things becomes a 'hold the door with your foot to stop the zombie sleeper walking in on you' type moment. Which is definitely what I think we will do next time!!

Motherhood: It doesn't have to be perfect to be wonderful

Now, motherhood has it's definite ups and downs, but if you can't laugh at the times where you are in complete embarrassment then what way are you going to make it through?

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page