top of page

Past/Present tense words

We are constantly correcting my daughter on the tense of her words lately. It is a pet hate I guess. The difference between "write" and "wrote"....shudder. I decided to do a quick activity to look at the different ways we write and say particular words.


Word Search/ word sort

I love word sorts. Listening to a podcast this afternoon they talked about word sorts and how beneficial they are. I totally agree. Plus they use something all teachers love... flash cards!


These cards are super easy to make up, using coloured paper and a marker. However, you can print them out or use printed card as well.


I chose words I know my daughter confuses: love, come, write, teach, catch.


Using the heading cards of: PRESENT, VERB, PRESENT/FUTURE and PAST we sorted the cards.


I used the verb and present/future ones to help build a little more understanding. The verb of "loving" in context: the man is loving his job. However, it can be known as an adjective as in the loving man. This is something we discussed too.


The present/future of loves for example: the man loves his wife is present tense. However, it can be used as a future tense, too. (got to love english!)

Much to my daughters disgust we then used to the words to write out sentences. At the beginning she was finding it difficult to think of sentences.


However, we linked it back to the book we had just read (see bossy e blog post) and she began writing sentences related to pig the pug.


We also were able to discuss alliteration with 'pigs came to the party." By changing it to "the purple pigs came to the party" we are using great alliteration! (LOVE multiple teaching concepts)



To extend this activity we could have then wrote small passages out using the sentences as a foundation sentence. Ensuring the tense of the words stay the same. As in present tense for the whole passage, then changing it to past.


Keep an eye out on my teachers pay teachers store for a passage activity on tense of words!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page