top of page

Playground review: Mood Park Albion Park

Recently Shellharbour council decided to upgrade some playgrounds in the local area. With two children, playgrounds have become a consistent hang out spot, and a great family day outing. This week they had the official opening of the new Mood Park playground and I have to say. I am very impressed!

Location

For those who have never been to Albion Park, Mood Park is a super easy place to find as it is right in the heart of the town. On the main intersection of Albion Park. Now it is even easier to find as it has a huge windmill (more on that later.)

As it is on the main intersection parking is a little more difficult to find. Parking on the main street or behind the shops on McGarth Lane is the options. We parked at Woolworths carpark and walked across the main road.

Features of the park

1. The windmill and slides

The tall windmill that stands in the park is a great main feature. There are two slides that come off each side of the windmill (the large one is "super fast" according to my daughter. The windmill has a netting climbing side, a rock climbing wall, a ladder in a tube and a wooden platform to meet the large slide. All sections a small challenge for the kids, but easy enough to climb.


2. The store front windows

There was two "store front" windows for imaginative play. One was a blacksmith and the other a train station door. Both link to the main characteristics of the area. A very creative idea!


3. The water fountain play


This amazing feature was a hit with bubs. The hand pump pushed water in the top section that flows on to the bottom two sections and into a drain at the bottom (to be reused I am guessing?) Having a water feature is a great idea for the playground! The only concern I would have is how clean the water is going to stay. Hopefully council have had some foresight about how they will keep the fountain clean. But Bubs was mesmorised by the fountain and it was the perfect height for him to stand at and put his hands into the water.

4. Musical walk way


I have seen these walkways around at a few playgrounds and I have loved them. Stepping onto the small metal buttons makes a chime noise. OJ loved running across them making a small tune with the notes.


I love that playgrounds are bringing in musical imaginative play as well as climbing things. Noise and movement! Love it!



5. Swings


A playground without swings? What is that?! This playground has three swings. My favourite is the net swing. It allows the kids to lay down or sit and swing gently. Bubs almost fell asleep on it!


The swings were always my favourite thing when going to a playground. I used to sit on the swing for ages trying to see how high I could go without my stomach "flipping over." You know that feeling?


As you can see OJ likes to be unique in her swinging style....



6. Wooden Obstacle course


I love the idea of a wooden course. The wooden blocks, the rope tight rope and the planks of wood are a great way to keep kids challenging themselves with balance and physical movement.


I had a go and I have to say... it isn't as easy as it looks!


The course has varied height blocks of wood, and large long planks of wood to walk across. Each a slight distance apart. As you can tell for OJ she had to stretch her legs quite long to reach each one.

7. Merry-go-round

When my dad saw this feature he went "Oh wow, I remember these from when I was little!" Though he had to admit a little later they are made a little different these days!


The spinning platform has two sitting areas and two areas for disabled wheelchair or frame access. I love this idea as it means everyone is included and it allows for anyone to access it.


One small downfall was that the platform was a little hard to push which I think will improve as time goes as it will wear down a little.

Features not pictured:

8. Picnic table with shade

There is one picnic table with shade over it. I love that they have provided a sitting area and with shade. But why not make more than one picnic table area?


9. Toilet block

Always a good asset to a park. Especially one so far from any toilet block.


10. Sitting blocks

These wooden blocks are great for kids to play on as well sitting areas for parents to watch their kids. They are placed around the playground making great sitting areas for supervision.


11. Fence around most of play area

As the playground is on a main intersection, one of the downfalls of the old play area was that there was NO fence. It was always a worry for me that my kids would run off and go near the cars. There is now a fence that goes around most of the play area, especially on the traffic side of the playground.

Overall Opinion:


My overall opinion of the playground is that it was a definite upgrade to the play area that was there. It was an area that has been long overdue for a little bit of TLC. The whole area is the first thing you see as you arrive at Albion Park. It now looks modern and clean, and attractive for the area.


Being from the area my whole life I also know that there will need to be a constant care for the area to keep it from being mistreated.


The playground is set in the back area of the park, and I love that they have kept the historical walk pathways and plaques to read as you walk towards the play area. A great way to show the history of the area.

My rating:


Playground equipment: ★★★★★


Sitting areas: ★★★★☆


Unique Features: ★★★★★


Accessibility: ★★★★☆


Overall: ★★★★☆


Here area some photos of the park for you to flick through:


128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page