top of page

Routines with Newborn and 8 Year old

We have been trying for the past month to get back into the swing of our routines and some routines have had to be changed slightly to include bubs as well. Below I have shared some of the routines I have put in place so far and a new meal plan I am wanting to use to keep our routines in place.

 

Our morning routine

Since school started back our morning routine was very precise. We had it going perfectly, and this made me very anxious when I went into hospital. My parents took over the school drop off and pick ups while I was in hospital, and the first few weeks at home. MJL took OJ to my parents before going to work. It felt all over the place but everyone being flexible and communicating back and forth it was working.

Now I have begun driving again the chaos is beginning. Juggling a newborn, my daughter and a puppy in the mornings is interesting. The below routine is very rough at the moment as it has only been a few days of school drop offs. But it gives a rough idea of how the routine works.

Bubs has been having a feed around 6-6.30am which fits in perfectly with our routine.


OJ has been great with getting ready for school. The routines we put in place before I had bubs have got her well trained.


Before she goes to bed she puts out her uniform and packs her lunchbag. This limits the chaos of the morning.


She even gets her own breakfast in the morning (with a little help to get down the bowls etc.)


I have been putting out a change of clothes for myself and bubs at night too. This helps a lot! Especially when you look at the amount of time we have to get ready.








I put together a short list of each of the things we have to have to leave the house in the mornings for each of Bubs, OJ and I. As you can see the list for Bubs is quite a bit longer! I also have the nappy bag stocked up and only need to re-stock it, which I have been doing the night before.








Our mornings have been working really well and been running very smoothly. Monday and Tuesday this week we drove to my parents, dropped off the puppy (he plays with my parents and brothers dog for the day) and then walked to OJ's school. From there my parents and I walked to coffee shop for breakfast. Today (Wednesday) we drove to my parents, dropped off the puppy, and dropped OJ at school by car. I needed a rest day.



 

Meal Plan and weekly plan

Our week is fairly busy with after school activities with OJ and now with newborn it is like a juggling act. One thing we have struggled with the past few weeks is getting meals out of the freezer or making sure we have planned dinner for the night. This is something I want to improve on. So, I made the below meal plan that incorporates after school activities and an "other" column for any other important notes of the day.

Here's this week's meal plan:

Our meals are always very simple and easy to prepare. We use a lot of packet type ingredients for convenience. With the after school activities which I have now taken back on board for driving to and from with OJ- time for cooking is limited. The biggest juggle...feeding bubs in between and him allowing me to cook before MJL gets home from work otherwise we end up with a very late dinner!

 
Any tips on how we could improve on our routines?
19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page