top of page

Save our planet! It's the only one with chocolate!

Lately I have been thinking about the waste that I have in my life. Every day I buy a coffee down the road- thats 365 coffee cups a year in the rubbish. I used to get a plastic bag every time I got something shopping (thats hundreds of plastic bags a year!) The argument for disposal nappies vs cloth nappies (Don't get me started!) Slowly, I have been changing my ways and I am finding new ways to be environmentally friendly each day.


Some of the ways I am being environmentally conscious in my life

1. Reusable Cups

As I said above, I get a coffee a day. The coffee cups quickly add up with that! I usually get a hot coffee if I know the place so we (my partner, my daughter and I) got keep cups. Two of them were from Big W and were fairly cheap. My daughters was from Kmart and was only $1.50! You don't need to pay a heap to be reusable.


There are so many alternative keep cups out there. You can grab ones with patterns and bright colours. There are others that are glass rather than the plastic. There are ones that are ceramic (if you are like me and are super clumsy these ones aren't the ones you want!)


For me, I want one that is easy to wash and I can't break when I have it in the nappy bag.

Also, ones that don't cost an arm and a leg to buy!!




On other days I get a cold coffee or a Frappe. I prefer cold coffees as I can drink them a lot easier and less likely chance of the soy milk being burnt.


I also can drink the coffee when feeding or holding bubs which is another bonus. I was looking for ages for a reusable alternative to the plastic cups they usually come in.


I needed something that was big enough for the iced coffee, with a straw to drink or a big enough hole for the iced drink to get through.


Going through Kmart I found the glittery cup! It was perfect! The cup is quite big, so it fits a large Iced coffee in it. The straw is big enough for the iced drink to get through and its easy to wash!


Plus... it was only $3! Bargain!







2. Modern Cloth Nappies

I can talk for days and days about using modern cloth nappies. The benefits of using modern cloth nappies are endless. I absolutely love them!

We have three brands of Modern Cloth Nappy's.


Bambooty (not pictured) modern cloth nappies that we have only just started using as they have been too big for bubs.


Baby Bare Nappies (Pictured: at the bottom) Which are absolutely amazing to use!


Hippybottomus (Pictured: at the top) for swimming nappies. Have yet to be able to use but super excited to!


I love using MCN as they are so environmentally friendly, but are so cost effective. The small amount of work in washing them outweighs the benefits of using them!


Check out my past blog post on MCN: https://emmasmith89.wixsite.com/mumof2/home/what-modern-cloth-nappies-do-i-use-and-why


3. Wetbags


We have used plastic disposable nappy bags, and sometimes they are convenient to use. When using Modern Cloth Nappies, a wetbag is perfect for transporting the nappies home when out and about. We have a few wetbags, the one pictured in the photo at the top came with the Baby Bare Nappies and is the perfect size for the nappies to fit in.


4. Reusable Straws


I did not know these things existed! But oh my gosh I am glad I found them! The argument about plastic straws has been very popular and the need to reduce plastic straws is definitely a must.


But man oh man do I detest paper straws! They bend in the middle half way through drinking something, they go mushed up from moisture and taste yuck!


I love the idea of using a metal straw. Reusable, washable, and keep together for the length of drinking time! Plus, as we found out, they make the drink stay cold when drinking it!


These straws are from Kmart and only cost $4 for 4. A huge bargain!




5. Reusable Shopping bags and Produce bags

I remember not so long ago the argument about Coles and Woolworth's taking away their plastic bags. I remember the uproar at the company's for doing something so out there!


I don't know about you, but I am now a very proud owner of about 100 reusable bags in the house, in the car, and in the pram.


When we remember the bags, it is great! They hold more in them, and don't usually break. The biggest thing? Remembering them!


The reusable produce bags has been on my wish list for so long. After grocery shopping we have so many plastic bags from our fruit and vegetables. I have always disliked this and wanted an alternative. I looked online at a few and had been debating which ones to get when I found some at Coles of all places!! Quite cheap and a good size.


6. Eco Wipes

A new find of mine (or a re find in a way) are the Eco by Naty brand wipes. They are great to use and are perfect on sensitive skin.


I remember sometimes using them with my daughter who had very sensitive skin. I have recently purchased some for using with my son!


7. Reusable Makeup Wipes


These ones are hand made! I grabbed a packet of disposable makeup pads from the shops the other week and remember thinking "there has to be a better alternative..." DING making my own! So easy to make and much nicer on the skin.


Fabric and toweling, along with a sewing machine and some patience will result in some pretty nice pads!


 

What ways do you try limit down the waste you use? Please comment below

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page